Welcome to Montgomery County!


In 1796, Montgomery became the 22nd county created by the Kentucky Legislature. It was named for General Richard Montgomery, an Irishman who ​was killed in the first volley of the attack on Quebec in 1775. In the beginning, Montgomery County stretched over unpopulated land all the way to the Virginia border. Within a few years, however, other counties had been formed from parts of Montgomery, and it is now one of the smallest of Kentucky's 120 counties.

Montgomery County is located in the Outer Bluegrass region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 707 to 1447 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 22,554 in a land area of 198.59 square miles, an average of 113.6 people per square mile. The county seat is Mount Sterling.

​ ​​​​​​​​​​

County Clerk
(Vehicle licensing, deeds, voter registration, marriage licenses)
(859) 498-8700

Circuit Clerk
(Driver licensing, court docket, fines)
(859) 498-5966

County Attorney
(859) 498-8713
(859) 498-8718 (Child Support Division)

Commonwealth's Attorney
(859) 498-0911

Property Valuation Administrator
(859) 498-8710

Judge Executive's Office
(859) 498-8707
(859) 498-1040 (Fax)



Team Kentucky        

© 2022 Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.



Welcome to Montgomery County!